A few years back…

My husband’s aunt asked me to sew her a coffee cup costume for Halloween, I didn’t have an idea or time. She asked again the next year I didn’t have time to actually make it but I figured she would ask again and started coming up with some ideas. I don’t drink coffee myself but I measured a few “throw away” coffee cups and party cups. All the cups I measured the bottom was half of the top and most of them the length was the same as the top, so I drew my idea on paper and held onto it.

She didn’t ask me like I thought she would but my husband thought I should make it and tell her it’s done and what supplies cost.

My sister helped a little, used an overhead projector at work to make the logo the size I wanted, I traced it with a black permanent marker and taped it to the back of the white felt (the closest I could find to something that looked like a foam cup) I held it up to a window on a sunny day and traced it onto the felt with a fabric marking pen.

Then I painted it by hand, I am pretty sure the painting part took longer than all the other stuff combined. I cut out a circle of dark brown velvet with a smaller circle inside of it for her head. While I was sewing my husband cut out a circle with a smaller circle out of a peice of pink styrofoam from the hardware store, which I covered in brown velvet in case it would be visible from underneith the costume. When I was done sewing I put the circle inside the costume and her costume was compleate.

She was very exited when I texted her a picture and told her it was done, she came to get it right away and within an hour of picking it up she was wearing it at Starbucks.

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A few years back…

  1. Grace says:

    It’s brilliant! so creative!

Leave a Reply

