Bolero..sorta

Until I put the band on I liked how it was turning out.

The band looked like it should fit when the peices were laid out, it sewed on like it fit, and I didn’t notice until after the next few steps.

I sewed it on and then folded over the edge of the other side of the band, just like the directions said.

The back looks great, but I am far from pleased with the front. It does not lay right at all. If the bolero turned out I think it would fit properly.

I removed the stitching from the last step in hopes that the issue was somewhere in the finishing touches, but that wasn’t thw case. For now I haven’t removed the band peice, I am not sure what I want to do with it or the best way to fix it.

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bolero..sorta

  1. I love the fabric. Sorry you had problems with it. If you can’t figure out how to fix it, it would make a cute little purse possibly??? I like the idea of the bolero though. I’m looking forward to seeing how it turns out! Good luck! 🙂
    ~Jen

  2. Jessica says:

    Hi there! I just made one of these with a cotton material. My problem is that around the front curve at the bottom, the band pulls in. So, in other words: the collar doesn’t lay flat. I have two choices: tuck the collar in all around, so it’s sorta “invisible” around the edges, which looks nice I guess, or tuck in the band at the curve, but pull it out at the neck and back. This too looks nice, but I wish the original pattern worked out!!! Any recommendations? 🙂

Leave a Reply

