Sewing lesson doll dress part 1

My daughter asked me for another sewing lesson while I was going through a bunch of old patterns that I was given.

She saw the doll cloths pattern and insisted on sewing one for her sewing lesson. She then went on to play with her dolls and discussed their new wardrobe she was going to make them if her doll dress turned out good, leaving me to cut out the pattern.

I guess I won’t complain much since the pattern is made of tissue paper and tears easily, and she would probably get upset if it ripped.

Then I cut out the fabric from scraps that my mom had lying around for almost 20 years. (my sister used this fabric for her confermation dress in the mid 90’s)

Of course I explained to her why things needed cut on the fold, why they needed placed certain ways and what the triangles meant. I don’t know how much of that stuck but she is very exited for her first non pillow case sewing lesson.

 

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in Craft, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing lesson doll dress part 1

  1. How old is your daughter? My daughter is 9 1/2 and I’d like to start giving her sewing lessons, but I’m afraid her attention span is too much like mine, and she might get bored easily. 😉
    Happy Easter!
    ~Jen

Leave a Reply

