Pierogies

A while back we tried pierogies, my husband and I thought they were good, my daughter liked some of the ones we tried and my son wouldn’t try them. I thought making them might help.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Pierogies-109296

The dough was easy to make and I made some instant mashed potatoes while the dough sat. (I wanted to keep it simple and have something I knew the kids would eat for the filling)

Then we rolled out the dough, and cut out with cookie cutters, if I had my say I would have only used the round, but the cookie cutters were out and the kids picked a few shapes that would be easy to fold in half.

Then we filled them with the mashed potatoes.

Then I folded them over and pinched them shut.

Then I froze them, and cooked them for supper. I followed the directions on the store bought ones I usually buy. This time I fried them but there are also directions for baking and boiling them. I usually fry or bake because I prefer them crispy.

I dip them in whatever sauce I feel like when I make them.

They were very good but a lot of work I will be making them again and experimenting with adding sauerkraut, and maybe corn or any meat or veggie I feel like trying when I make them.

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

