“Almost eclair” bodice muslin

I know I have plenty of dresses that I hardly wear, aside from the one shoulder dress I made last summer they are either ill fitting or not the most flattering.
But, a bold floral fabric isn’t appropriate for a fall wedding. (at least in my opinion) and as I said when I traced and altered the pattern, I want to try new techniques.
I grabbed scraps of fabric from my one shoulder dress.

IMG_1452

I pinned the pattern and cut out the fabric.

IMG_1453

Then I sewed it as if I was making the original pattern. (Simplicity 1606)

IMG_1453

I pinned in a zipper so I could try it on.

IMG_1455

After a few additional changes it fit well but wasn’t the most flattering. Maybe it was the fact that it was only the bodice, maybe it was my petite chest and long torso or the fact that my stomach is NOT well toned.
But I have time to figure it out. At least it looks like boning won’t be as hard as I thought.

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment