DIY gift box

Since I am planning on donating some jewelry peices for an auction at a banquet I am going to need jewerly or gift boxes to put them in. I have only seen them in bulk packaging or reused ones I had. since I never need more than one or two I decided to figure out how to make them.

I made a practice box today.

I started by drawing the size I wanted for the bottom. I drew half inch and inch lines on all four sides. and left two sides a little longer to create tabs.

IMG_1636

Then I cut it out and folded it on the lines. (it may be helpfull to use a straight edge to fold against)

IMG_1638

I glued the tabs to the other sides, and folded down the other sides and glued them. I secured with cloths pins while it dried.

IMG_1640

I did the same thing with the other half but 1/8 inch larger.

IMG_1641

Whoops I wrote bottom on the lid.

Now that both are dry I have a gift box.

IMG_1642

IMG_1643

It was a bit of a snug fit, when I make them for the jewelry for the banquet I will not only use a stiffer paper, but will trace the bottom for a better size for the top.

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in Craft, Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

