Lip Balm supplies

I have been wanting to make my own lip balm for a long time now. I need to be using it, so do my kids all 3 of us have a bad habit of licking our lips and sometimes picking at them when they get too dry. (shame on us I know) I even bought stuff to make some with petroleum jelly and kool-aid. It was so disastrous that I threw it out without taking pictures.

I did find one lip balm that I like, but it is pricey. After reading a few copy cat recipies for Burt’s Bees, I set out on a search for ingredients. I finally found a DIY kit on eBay that I liked for $15 the only thing it doesn’t have is the essential oils. http://www.ebay.com/itm/331073889280?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

While it’s on it’s way I cleaned up a few old or empty tubes that I have been saving. (just in case there is a bit more than the included tubes can hold) If I do refill these tubes they will be for personal use only (and will be marked on the bottom of each tube) only new tubes will possibly be given as gifts.

IMG_3030

Picked up a few candy oil flavorings, and eye droppers. I decided to substitute the candy oils for essential oils, (at least for this batch) because it’s less expensive ($1 each) smaller bottles, and still an oil unlike typical  baking flavors (which would probably change the consistency of the final product)

IMG_3031

And printed out a few make-shift labels. (which I will attach with contact paper)

IMG_3032

I will probably be making the lip balms as soon as the kit arrives, before I do I will weigh everything out so I know how much I need when I DIY my own kit.

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in diy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

