Only time will tell

One of the mugs that the kids and I decorated with sharpies was for my husband’s aunt. (and she’s probably the kids’ favorite great aunt) But when I wasn’t in earshot his uncle (and husband of the aunt that got the mug) whined that he didn’t get one.

Since I couldn’t find any coffee mugs that were plain, (at 3 different stores) so I got a beer mug. (technically it’s still a mug) I am still going to use the Sharpie paint pen method I used on all the other mugs. What I didn’t find (so far in my searching) was anything saying specifically that it would work. But I also didn’t find anything that said it wouldn’t work either. I did see a bunch of hand painted wine glasses and beer mugs that didn’t specify what kind of paint was used.

So I found the font and size I wanted, printed it and placed it inside the mug.

IMG_3066

Then I selected the colors I wanted to use and carefully traced over the letters.

IMG_3067

After letting it dry, touching up a few spots I placed it in the oven and baked it according to the directions I had used in the past. (350 for half an hour and let cool in the oven)

It is cooling now, I’m not sure if it will work or not. I will know soon. I do not care if it does or not. (but I would really like it to!) The mug was $1 and there is plenty of paint left in all the markers. The only thing I will have really wasted is my time. If it doesn’t work I will probably etch the same design on it.

 

Edit to add: after it cooled in the oven I washed it. Twice. In the hottest water I could stand. Once with a bottle brush the other with a plastic scrubber. The color stayed. I call this a crafty win.

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in Craft, crafts, crafts., Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

