Diy bird scent stick

I haven’t really posted much about training the new puppy to be a bird dog, but she has always been enthusiastic about her training.

Anyway, liquid scent is a pain in the a** it tends to bead off the dummy, and the wings I have attached to it. (wings my husband harvested, but they can be purchased too) When I was looking at scents to price them I found some that are like a deodorant stick and some like a lip balm tube. The problem with stick scents is they are a lot more expensive. (at least double.. for less product!) I didn’t get either since we were just pricing it.

I decided to take what I had on hand and try to make some of my own. I didn’t want to do beeswax because it does have a scent (at least in my opinion) and that would affect the smell of the scent. So I went to Hobby Lobby to check the price of wax for candle making. Everything I saw was unscented. I got lucky and picked up an opened bag for less than $1. It didn’t look like it was missing much product either.

IMG_3107

I started by cleaning out a dried out glue stick and removed the label.

IMG_3108

If I had know how long this step would take I would have done this first. I warmed the wax just enough that it was starting to stick together, and mixed in the scent. Then let it dry. Which took several hours. (so IF I do this exact method again I will dry it out on a flat surface instead of in the cup so it dries quicker) I forgot to take pics of this stage. but it reminded me of wet salt.

Once it was dry  I melted it, and poured it into the empty glue stick tube and let it set.

IMG_3109

Once it was dry I put the cap on and labeled it. It isn’t as strong as it used to be but I think it is strong enough to work, as long as I apply it each time I work with the puppy.

 

 

About alwaystimetoprocraftinate

I am a homemaker that loves to start but now always finish project. I have been married 11 years, with 2 children that will both be in school this year.
This entry was posted in hunting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

